Spring is in the Air...

...and on the street. I took these pictures as I was driving out of the parking lot from the Pilates studio this morning. The toms (top) were on the sidewalk in the shadow of the hospital across the street, and it wasn't clear at first what I was seeing. When I got a little closer I had to stop because they were headed across the street after the hen (bottom).

They boys are in full courtship plumage, but she wasn't paying any attention to them. I have a feeling she knew they were there though...

We met Kathy for lunch at the Spinster Sisters...a belated but very pleasant birthday lunch. I could get used to celebrating my birthday for a whole week....if only I didn't have to have another birthday in order to do it....After lunch we walked around what is known in Santa Rosa as 'the Arts District', a collection of funky art studios, quirky old houses and murals on the sides of buildings*. There is also a gardening business that builds attractive raised beds out of corrugated metal and wood, each with its own irrigation system. They will build them, deliver them, install them, fill them with dirt and even plant them if you want. There is also an online advice and support system. 

It is probably a subject for another day since their display of beds, all planted with lettuce, peas, kale and chard was most attractive....

*extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.