Many pots, forbidden photos and a barrel organ

Today began rather overcast, but without the forecast showers. Our first visit was to a carpet factory (!) where a lively man with very good English explained about the designs and manufacturing of the huge range of rugs and carpets on display and just how we could pay for them and have them delivered to our homes, ha, ha! Two henchmen rolled out the carpets to his instructions. After I'd taken a number of photographs he suddenly noticed me and I received my first public telling-off! I caught him on camera - see extra!                                  
 
We then went on to Knossus, pronounced slowly and distinctively by our guide, Lena, as K-nosssss-susssss. This is a Bronze Age site with the ruins of a Minoan palace as I'm sure most people know. The excavations in Knossos began in 1900 by the English archaeologist Sir Arthur Evans, and continued for 35 years. He decided to reconstruct large parts of the building, using a lot of concrete, and although it gives a good indication of what it was like, is rather frowned on, I think!

We finished the day with a visit to the Archeological Museum in Heraklion, where we heard a lot more about Knossus and saw approximately 1.5 million pots of various kinds! I received my second public telling-off when I walked between a glass case and the wall, though I'm not sure what I did wrong! Tim and I had a wander around the town, collecting tree seeds of various kind and listening to a little man playing a barrel organ!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.