Water, water everywhere!

Looking out pictures for backBlips is a touch confusing as the schedule on our tour was changed, not only days, but destinations. I think I might have already given the wrong place names for some of our visits and will have to check them again.

Anyway, today we visited Crete's only natural freshwater lake, Lake Kournas, which was hugely flooded, with the approach roads and lakeside cafes under water. My Blip today shows some steps leading down to the shore and a number of trees, probably around 10ft high, totally submerged. I failed to persuade a couple of likely ladies to walk down the steps for a photograph - can't imagine why! The lake is home to a terrapin, Malaclemys terrapin, though strangely that species is a USA native. Not sure about this! At the end of February, Crete suffered unusually heavy rain which also washed out roadside cliffs and mountainsides - obviously the water here hasn't receded yet!

We also explored the excavations of Aptera where we were invited to hold forth in the centre of the theatre. Some of my fellow tourists did recite some Shakespeare, though I declined to take part! I wanted to photograph the empty theatre so had to wait until everyone had gone and before the next lot arrived - see extras. I also saw my first Swallowtail Butterfly. Lots of other lovely sights, including a visit to the port of Chania, but far too much to describe here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.