Carnival time

Today we visited the fairly new and starkly designed archaeological museum at Elefthema. It was quite interesting, but as the day was one of only two forecast dry days I skipped the guided tour and crossed over to a wild piece of land where numerous wild flowers were growing, among them anemones, cyclamen, arums and many others. Among them were quite a few plastic bottles and coffee cups. The farmer who was herding his sheep along the narrow road tossed his coffee cup out of the window!
 
We went on to the Monastery of Arkadi, our first (!), which as with all of them was a good place to take photographs. On the horizon behind the buildings was a magnificent snow-covered peak whose name I forget.  
 
The last visit of the day was to the town of Rethymnon, where the annual carnival was in progress. I like nothing better than to roam the streets photographing people dressed weirdly! Tim and I left the tour group and wandered down an alley to find an empty taverna where the host and hostess were decorating a hat for the carnival. We sat in the sun with a cat and enjoyed a drink while the rest of the town was on the rampage. I asked if I could take their photograph, so this is my Blip for today.
 
I met a group who appeared to be dressed as nuns and a cardinal, so I took a picture of them and have put it on as an extra. Another extra is of the harbour at Rethymnon, with the same snowy peak in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.