Concrete

The phone rang at Silly O’Clock waking me up. It was the man in charge of laying my new drive wanting to do it today rather than Wednesday. I agreed and by the time I’d had a quick shower four of them had arrived.

Soon the concrete mixer arrived (or ‘crete as they called it) and work began. Two ferried very heavy looking wheelbarrows of concrete while two raked it into place. It was then smoothed out to make a flawless surface.

I had to move out as it can’t be walked on for 24 hours so I’m staying at F’s tonight. I had to leave the house teetering along planks to the pavement as I have no alternative exit. Fortunately I didn’t slip off, that would have been quite a sight!

Unfortunately I’ve missed them imprinting cobble shapes on it as they had to wait 2 hours before starting that. They will be back next week to weather seal the surface and hopefully it will look good.

Yesterday my neighbour reversed her car into her house windowsill trying to avoid my drive and smashed her back windscreen. I felt responsible as it was my alterations that caused her to lose concentration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.