Scribbler

By scribbler

Aboriginal Burial Poles

I've been spending time in old journals, and found this drawing in a journal book from 1999. I remember how much I enjoyed seeing these poles in the museum and spending time with them. They were painted wood, very fresh looking because recently made. But their use in Australian Aboriginal society is as grave markers, and the idea is that they slowly deteriorate in rain and wind until they return to nature. 

---------------
Backblipped Monday 18 March 2019.


I may be returning to nature myself. Saw the doctor today, but all I got for it was a bunch of normal blood tests. Still sick, though. Lots of catching up to do, in life and on Blip. 

---------------
Extra: Journal drawing, also 1999, in the Papua New Guinea Sculpture Garden at Stanford University. The carvers were at Stanford for about a year, and all the carving was done on site. You could come and watch them at work. I wrote, "This is sacred space. The spirit that inspired Picasso is here. The carvings make all nature come alive with personalities."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.