Visitors

‘Here today and gone tomorrow’ goes the saying and is so applicable to the arrival and departure of Poppy and Mike. Their flight was delayed last night, so I managed to consume two dinners having eaten one at 6pm when I knew their flight was going to be late and one at 9:30pm after they had arrived. A very full tummy ensured the best night’s sleep I’ve had for a while.

This morning while Mike enjoyed a leisurely morning on his own in the Dower House, I introduced Poppy to the delights of Söderberg and an Easter lemon tart. Afterwards she was dragged without too much protest to Bruntsfield and the French bakery to buy a ‘pain aux figues ‘ for lunch and a wander past the shops which included a visit to a new emporium of doggy and catty accessories. There was much excitement from my companion, but my lips are sealed on that front. It felt like taking your child to see a toy shop at Christmas.

Now I have just put them on the bus to the airport and returned to an overly quiet house. It was lovely having them stay- houses are meant to have more than one person living in them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.