Skip's Blips

By Skip

I was getting worried...

After a squabble between the bluebird and house sparrow five or six days ago, the bluebird took off, and I haven't seen him since. Unfortunately, the sparrow has made daily visits to the nesting box, but no bluebirds have shown up. We are hoping the bluebirds will move into the nesting box and live happily ever after, but I'm worried about a repeat of last year when the sparrow invaded the nest and destroyed the three little bluebird eggs. So when the bluebird appeared this morning and entered the nesting box, I was ready to do handsprings (if I only could). I'm crossing my fingers for bluebird success, but not holding my breath. The extra is another bird that visited this morning. These redwinged blackbirds are true harbingers of spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.