flavia13

By flavia13

ANOTHER BRIEF ENCOUNTER - THE ORIGINAL

Very busy day today.  Started off by manning the U3A Digital Photography club's stall at our U3A enrolment day.  Then Hubby picked me up and we went to Carnforth, ready for our Guide Dogs for the Blind event.

Hubby came with me so we went to the Carnforth Heritage Centre, which I haven't been to for a very long time and had lunch in the Brief Encounter cafe.  

For those that don't, the cafe, clock and platform sequences were all film in Carnforth.  The clock is still there and the cafe has been restored to looking very like it did in the film.  The photo is of a picture in the Heritage Centre, sadly not how it looks today, although the Heritage Centre is quite nice.

We had a lovely time, Hubby loves to read ALL the information plaques and available paraphenalia and I watched about half of the film.  I'd forgotten just was a great film it was.  No sex, no violence just a simple 
lovely story, well told, well written, superbly acted, and fabulously filmed.  I only watched about half of it as I will take our friend G there when he's next over in April and will watch the whole thing then.

Then onto the Country House Hotel for the Reception for the Guide Dogs for the Blind.

4 years ago I received my first very small company pension at the age of 60 and thought it was so small I would like to do some good with it otherwise it would just end up getting caught up in the household monies.  This coincided with a weekend in Windsor with friends where there was a stall advertising sponsoring Guide Dogs for the Blind.  I discovered that for as little as £5 per month I could sponsor one of these dogs, well this was something important that I could do with that small pension.  So I signed up and, even though I'm a WASPI woman and have struggled a little at times, it is still nice to know that someone was benefitting from such a small thing.

The Reception was being held at the Country House Hotel in Carnforth, basically thanking sponsors for their continued support and to hear from a Puppy Walker/Trainer and a couple of people who have these dogs and what differences it has made to their lives, and of course advertising how else we can sponsor them, if we are able.  It wasn't pushed down our throats and was a very informative and lovely afternoon .  I met three of the dogs, one a puppy in training and the other two were actual Guide Dogs; oh and their owners of course.
.
Looking forward to meeting Derwentlass and others at the Blipmeet tomorrow, providing I don't get lost of course. Finding my way to Maryport is fine, it's once I get there.  I am quite notorious for getting lost in easy to find places.  Hope the weather is reasonably kind to us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.