NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

Small World?

Okay... so we Dutch people aren't Scandinavian giants, but we aren't midgets either.

I had spotted these mailboxes some time ago and thought the were ridiculously low, and took a photo without people in it. But looking at it at home it wasn't as funny as it was on location, because the wall didn't give any feeling of reference.

So I decided to shoot it again if I would be in the neighborhood again. I waited if somebody would post a card - after all it's almost Christmas - but that concept turned out to be in vain unless I was willing to wait for hours probably.

A coincidental jogger 'walking' the dog came as an alternative solution. As you'll notice you have to bend over pretty much to post a letter in both of them.

A girlfriend told me that they do this so people in wheelchairs can also reach the lid, which sounds logical and social, but why not put the other mailbox at a standard hight???



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.