Typical Of A 500 Year Old British Tradition

After a few work calls this morning, I had booked the afternoon off to ‘play horses’ for the rest of the day.

The third Thursday in March is the day of the Kiplingcotes Derby, the oldest flat race in the world and this year was extra special as it was the 500th anniversary. I am lucky enough to live within a few miles, but today was still only my second visit. It’s an amateur race with a 4 mile straight line course along bridleways, fields and roadside verges and it has that rather bonkers feeling that is typical of a 500 year old British tradition.

It was a sociable event and it was lovely to bump into lots of friends and neighbours, including fellow Blippers Jankerman and Riversider. The winner was multiple champion Tracey Corrigan riding Frog, but these lovely side-saddle ladies really caught my attention with the look of unbridled joy as they neared the finish line.

This evening I had a lesson with a dressage judge and trainer who teaches my instructor Polly. It was really enjoyable and she loved China but oh boy did she make us work hard, we were both exhausted by the end of it. Lots to take away and luckily Polly was watching too so together we can work on what I learned today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.