Unexpected

Oh my!  This black and white and very pregnant cat has been wandering around the school buildings for the last few days desperately looking for somewhere warm and cosy to make her nest. Finally, with a little help from me, my colleagues, and some students, a box underneath my office desk became the maternity unit when at 13.00 and then 13.20, she produced two beautiful babies.  Not much more than a baby herself, she is proving to be an excellent, doting mother.  The afternoon and early evening was a constant stream of visiting well wishers - students, teachers and staff - news travels fast and a cat birthing under my office desk is not the usual stuff of which gossip is made.

Knowing she won't leave them, at least for 36 hours,  I left her in the office at the end of the day, but went back at 21.00 to check on them and give her some supper.  After half an hour, with her and her beautiful babies all tucked up, I turned out the light and wished her good night.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.