FLOWER FRIDAY

You can see quite plainly from this photograph of flowers in a vase that I am a “plonker”.  Many of you, particularly in the UK, will think of funny, or maybe even rude connotations relating to that word, as used to describe Rodney in "Only Fools and Horses", but I am talking about a “plonker” in the true sense of the word, which means that I “plonk” flowers in a vase without bothering to faff around with them and make them look pretty.  That is not my forté - faffing around with flowers - and anyway, I’m not sure I could make them look any more beautiful.

However, these are not just any old flowers, these are from Waitrose, classed as the rather “up-market” store, and according to the label they are scented Narcissi from the Scilly Isles - so this is my offering for Flower Friday, from one of the Silly Iles!

They were given to me earlier in the week by a friend, and actually, although they are classed as “scented” the smell is rather pungent - however, I can forgive them that, as they are so beautiful.  

"I am in awe of flowers, 
     not because of their colors, 
          but because even though 
               they have dirt in their roots, 
                    they still grow - 
                         they still bloom."
D.Antoinette Foy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.