Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Sun on the Massan

A welcome shaft of sunlight in the late afternoon after a morning of wind and battering showers. And today was one of these days that remind me of the passing years, not just because we spent much of the morning arranging the services for Holy Week with the lovely retired priest who's been looking after us in the interregnum (who was it decided to have the Maundy Thursday service at teatime? How long ago?) but also because it's increasingly obvious that a day of the kind I used to take in my stride now leaves me totally exhausted by evening.

It's not as if it was obviously hectic - brief (soaking) trip to the shops for forgotten items, the church meeting over coffee (in my house - no hardship there), the quick emergency trip to the dentist, a walk up Glen Massan - but there was no time for a quick post-lunch snooze, for example; no time to read the paper over coffee. It's the opposite side of the coin that quells any sense of achievement that I still feel that I can do a day's work nae bother: I can do it, but only at the expense of a comatose evening.

But at least the sun came out ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.