ConstablePie

By ConstablePie

Gothenburg

Day 2 in Gothenburg and we started with the indoor food market and then walked to Haga that is renowned for old wooden houses and antiques and independent boutiques. Pretty but a bit disappointing as one Main Street, so after Fika, coffee and cake, we jumped on a tram to an art gallery near the harbour. There were 2 artists work to look at, both of which were interactive; a film, and a sensory light and sound display. To say I wasn’t appreciative would be an understatement. I just don’t get this sort of art, it seems so up itself.
After a few hours meandering and going into some lovely design shops we headed back to the hotel via a drink, to freshen up for dinner.
We decided we wanted to try traditional Swedish food tonight so went to Smaka and had the charcuterie and prawns followed by meatballs and whole flounder, and a pecan and ice cream dessert to share. All good, although I’ve never been a fan of Ikea meatballs which are so popular in the Uk, but I wanted to have the authentic ones in Sweden. Well done Ikea, they are just the same, like bullets.
By 10pm we were headed to the hotel, but on the way checked out a club that we’d seen last night with a rainbow flag outside, that was opening at 10pm. EJ hadn’t slept well last night, and didn’t want to do anymore today. I was still pretty lively so I had a drink in the pub in the basement of the hotel, and then headed to the club on my own. It was only a hundred yards from the hotel and I really wanted to go, and I wanted to prove to myself I still had the confidence to do it. I had a great time, the music was great, 80’s and 90’s, and a few people spoke to me. I didn’t dance, not even to Macarena or ABBA, but had a great time watching everyone else.
I got back to the hotel at 2.30am feeling very pleased with myself and just a tad tipsy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.