The Next Chapter!

By carol_dunham

Decluttering....

....has been the order of the day again. My bedroom has been thoroughly overhauled...no drawer, shelf or cupboard left unturned!

My wedding dress still resides in a box atop the wardrobe...I’m never going to wear it again...my daughter is highly unlikely to ever fit in it, nor is she likely to want to...what to do with it after 30 years? There is a lady locally who turns them into angel dresses and cribs for still born babies...I’m swithering but think that’s where it will go. I took the box down to see what else was in it and came across the scrapbook I’d made of our wedding and honeymoon. Our photographer put together a couple or so pages of bloopers at the end of it for me...today’s blip is a portion of that!

That’s my Dad to the right of the pic...an important job being father of the bride. Unfortunately for him he spent the day (and considerable time after) trying to live down the fact he’d thrown my wedding dress and the chief bridesmaids dress into the local council skip the week before the wedding! Luckily we got them back in time for the big day but I did make most of the national newspapers that morning.

Alls well that ends well...er no...then sadly the ministers father died and he had to go to Ireland meaning a relief minister and a scramble to find another organist to replace his wife. Safely wed we set off for our honeymoon to Jamaica only to find hurricane Gilbert had beaten us to it...we were eventually rerouted to Barbados to spend a relaxing two weeks. Thankfully things only came in threes!!

A true but silly story...thanks to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.