Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Stoop

From that lesser known Yorkshire village of Stick No Bills, a very well cared for guide stoop/milestone. A reward for taking a half mile detour after spotting an enticing MS on my map. And a bonus benchmark to boot.

I was in the vicinity for  a football match, Huddersfield Town Ladies v Stoke City ladies, which was being played at the home of Shelley FC. It's an unusual ground in that it's tucked away in a forest behind Storthes Hall and has fine views across the valley with the Emley Moor masts looming above. The game was a fairly even one, with two late goals leaving it 1-1. A few of my pictures from the encounter can be found here.

I'd arrived in plenty of time, so went for a walk in the woods (and after milestones). I heard my first Chiff-chaff of the year but saw no butterflies, it' been a blank March so far.

See extras for another shot of the masts and some fluffy ponies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.