BMX bandit

Zeke rode at the National Cycling Centre today on their BMX track. My heart was in my mouth as I watched him fly round and it seems it was rightly so! He took a tumble and was uncharacteristic in his determination to stay off the bike. When we finally persuaded him to remove his gloves, I understood why. Then there was a panicked trip across town to Children’s A&E and a very long afternoon and evening there working out if his hand was broken. This photograph was taken upon his return after 10pm. Baby Orangutan was bandaged up just like Zekey pie.

Gratefuls:

1. No broken bones and all of the babes being safe and sound this evening. I always know they’re precious but spending a day fretting in the hospital rather hammers the point home!
2. Fearless Zeke and matter of fact Eve. “I told you it wasn’t a good idea to put any of us on that track!” She had decided to sit it out when presented with reams of safety equipment - wise girl. Zeke just went for it in typical Zeke style. The bond between them is pretty special - as we made our way to the hospital Eve wept where he couldn’t see her as she was so worried to see him in pain - such empathy. Basically everyone was in bits and in need of a nice sit down and a cup of tea;
3. Prayer making a difference! A friend prayed for my toe this morning and it felt really different afterwards. I’m slightly hesitant to admit that I really didn’t expect it to! Likewise, prayer worked for Zeke. Just amazing;
4. I’m insisting on a 4th today.... meeting some beautiful people at the hospital and having the strange privilege of sharing a weird afternoon and evening in the hospital with them all.

Extras of before the mishap and Zeke, holding bandaged hands in bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.