Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Backblip

After yesterday's rest day I thought I'd just do a little walk to see how my snotty nose was, so went up to the Devil's Kitchen above Llyn Idwal and said hello to Dad*. I sat a while before descending around the other side of the lake, stopping to watch climbers on the Slabs while I ate lunch.

We quite often came to this llyn as children, skimming stones and picnicking. Sometimes Mum stayed with the younger two while Dad took us older two a bit further.  On one occasion we walked up to the Kitchen, where I was shocked to see a dead and bloated sheep in the pool - I remember I almost fell backwards!

*Last September, against the better judgement of three of the four of us, we scattered Dad's ashes around and in Llyn Idwal. I know we shouldn't have, although I seriously doubt we could've dissuaded the fourth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.