MonoMonday: Object

(OK, so I struggled to get a cardboard box to look artistic, this is the best I could manage! So why have I blipped it? - read on.)

ApolloFly has suggested "Object" as today's MonoMonday theme. "Object" can be either a noun or a verb.

As a noun, a cardboard box is a very everyday object. Inside the box is a very useful object - it's a power supply unit for a desktop computer, ready to be posted to Son#2 who lives in Bath. Why? On Saturday morning his computer suddenly decided that it wouldn't switch on any more - no fans whirring or anything. We've been through all the usual things - loose connections etc etc. (For many years we've always built our desktop PCs ourselves so we're pretty familiar with their insides.) We're hoping that the power supply has gone wrong (as did my almost identical one a year or two back), but it's hard to be sure without diagnostic equipment (eg a multimeter) which he doesn't have. I had a spare power supply so it's now on the way, care of the Royal Mail - better than him splashing out on a new power supply when it might be something else which is wrong.

What about a verb? Well, the package weighed a little over 2Kg which meant that it couldn't go at the "small parcel rate". The next step up is a "medium parcel" which can weigh anything from 2 to 5 Kg. So I had to pay postage which was enough for a parcel more than twice the weight of this one - I was inclined to object to this but there was no point - prices aren't set by the staff at the local post office.

(If I'd known his computer was going to go wrong I could have taken the power supply with me when we visited a couple of weeks ago...grrr!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.