Hampsfell ( avoiding the mud)

Having walked to the Start of the orienteering event today, (1.5k uphill) to hand over the car keys from son R, I had a  quick look at someone elses map and decided to navigate to the Finish, which would be more interesting than retracing my steps. It didn't look too hard, there was a path for me to follow then I was sure I would see the orienteers all rushing toward the Finish and that would show me the way.  What I did not reckon on was the fact that the cows you can see here,  had walked the path and it had rained last week. The path was now about  20cms of thick slimy mud, just like where they are standing in the picture.   This meant I had to pick my way through the trees across through the limestone pavement, pretty tricky with a crutch and a walking pole. It got so tricky at one point I headed back towards the path and chose the mud. Quite an adventure. I think I'm ready to ditch the crutch and go out with two walking poles. Picture taken as I set off on my route,  looking back to the Start with the orienteers all waiting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.