Temptation

This is today’s temptation, would I or wouldn’t I succumb? Oh yes, I did, I have no will power left!

In other matters, I bit the bullet this morning and phoned BT to see if they could give me a deal on my broadband and line rental which would stop me leaving and finding another provider at half the price.
The threat worked and I got one which is actually almost half the price; at least I think I did. I know I’m a little hard of hearing, but I only heard about one word in 10 of what the chap on the other end of the phone was saying. He wasn’t foreign but he spoke so quickly and so quietly that I had to keep telling him to please speak up and slow down as I was extremely old and deaf. It would work for the following sentence but then relapsed into a kind of, what sounded like, muttering.It doesn’t do much for one’s confidence being at a disadvantage in the hearing stakes. Anyway the subsequent email confirmed what I more or less guessed he said, so, result!

It was a much milder morning today with not much wind, just perfect for a short turn of the pedals pre breakfast to pop a birthday card through a friend’s letter box and then a walk into town later to buy a thin peignoir to wear when staying overnight with friends. I know it’s a bit pretentious to use the French word but some how ‘dressing gown’ didn’t fit the description of what I was looking for. I have one of the latter in a fleecy material which reaches down to my ankles to keep me warm in a Scottish winter. It is not exactly pretty; the new ‘peignoir’ is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.