BioPeek

By BioPeek

The Real Martin Parr.

To Manchester Art Gallery today, to see Martin Parr's Manchester work. Shot over the decades, beginning 1972-ish, it's both a retrospective re-showing and a display of his current commissions. 

WOW!

So much of his work resonated with viewers who were of my generation. His images of June Street (1972) in particular because I could point out which of the living rooms were "Corpy" -- I guess that means very little or nothing to those who didn't grow up in the 60s - 80s era. How times have changed.

After a lovely cuppa, in the MAG's tea room -- only two squid, too, very cheap for Manchester centre -- it was time to blip those mean Mancunian streets, especially around China Town and the wrong side of Portland Street. Smashing. 

BTW 'tis a poor shot of the exbi, I blames m'phone. I just can't shoot with one; I needs m'viewfinder. I really am getting old, aren't I. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.