WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

New shoots

It feels like a long time since I blipped vines. Here are the first green leaves reaching out to the sun, always an encouraging sight. Alternative blip in extras. It's encouraging too to see a few green shoots of independence emerging from the British parliament -- although the UK is still not out of the woods, by a long way.

While I was driving to choir practice on Saturday, I had a bright idea about the conundrum of how to get my 500 GB of photos off the Time Machine backup onto the new external drive. So today I dug out the old white plastic Macbook I bought in 2009. In those days you could still do DIY upgrades to Macs with just a couple of screwdrivers, and I'd installed a bigger hard disk which has lots of free space. To my pleasure it came to life instantly, and I rediscovered the knack of waggling the dodgy screen so that it worked. It took a few hours, but eventually I was able to access the files from the TM drive directly, copy them to the hard disk, and from there to the new drive. Progress! It was definitely worth keeping that trusty old Macbook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.