The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

My Melodica

I'm certain that very few people have a Melodica. This one was given to me as a birthday gift when I was a youngster. It has a sound similar to a harmonica, but is far easier to play. Newer models have more octaves and a tube style sound blower.

I found this today in my basement, along with a box of really cool stuff from my childhood. In the search for fitting together the puzzle pieces of my life, I now have no excuses for missing a Blip!

Before I dedicated my life to writing and working in film and television, I was a classical flutist. I started playing piano at 4 years of age, flute and guitar at 9, piccolo at 11, and had forays with Melodica, Clarinet, Oboe, Recorder, and Saxophone.

I gave up all reed instruments out of my inability to find fascination with soaking, filing, balancing, and trying to make a double reed. This is something that only a few friends know about me.

An unfortunate neck injury cut short my career as a professional musician. I still play my flute now and then, but cannot risk another neck problem arising. A perfectionist by nature, I cannot stand to hear myself play anymore.

Now, I make music with my words, articulating and weaving them into moments of emotional release, channeled through the tattoos on my soul.

I was an unusual child, and no matter what I do, remain an unusual adult. My mom told me once long ago, "Never stop marching to the beat of a different drum, it makes you who you are and I love you."

I think she'd be pretty happy if she saw that I still have this musical instrument. It is unique, and a part of who I am.

The Love Child, marching in 5/4 time.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.