The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

My Lucky Ring

When I think back on the day I got this "Lucky RIng," I am in disbelief that my mother allowed me to see a side show freak show. It was one of those unexpected delights to a curious child, and I was fascinated with the people who were there.

We were at a local shopping center to make a purchase, and of course, I was with her. She rarely left me at home with anyone after I scared the bejeezus out of her one summer evening. My father, asleep on his favorite chair, was oblivious to my fall off the kitchen counter. I greeted my mom at the back door with blood dripping down the right side of my face.

She screamed, I screamed, and the rest of the story ended with me under her strict supervision most of the time. I have a scar to remind me of that incident, and was sure not to install stainless steel counters in my kitchen when I grew up.

Back to the ring. The side show just happened to be at the outdoor mall, and my mom could not avoid us walking past the various performers.

This ring was a souvenir offered for purchase, from the Tallest Man in the United States. He was HUGE! I do not remember his name or exactly how tall he was, but know that this ring was a duplicate of one that fit his ring finger! He wore Western clothes and called me, "Little Lady." Considering that I looked more like Scout from To Kill A Mockingbird, than a little lady, we made instant friends.

I HAD to have this ring, and begged my mom to buy it for me. It is a size 24 3/4, with an inside diameter of 1.25 inches. Somehow, this ring has managed to follow me wherever I have lived. I recently discovered it in an old tin, along with a treasure trove of other unique items from my colorful childhood.

A Lucky Ring of this magnitude must carry a lot of magic, right? After all, it came from a man with a heart of gold and the biggest smile I have ever seen.

He may not have been as cool as the Bearded Lady or the Monkey Boy, but to me, he will remain a fond memory of my days of innocence and wonder.

My days as The Love Child.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.