The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Teardrops or Lemon Drops?

The summer after my father died, my three older sisters left for Copenhagen, Denmark, to visit a friend of one of my sisters, and experience a different culture. In a way, I think it was also a way for my mom to move us to another house, without the protests of 2 teenagers and 1 very young adult.

My sister Margaret came home after 6 weeks, as she had to go back to high school. My sister Ruby decided to stay and go to an International college for a semester, and my oldest sister, Grace, decided to stay and see what happened. She eventually married and still lives there.

When my sister Ruby came home, she brought me some glass teardrops, filled with colored water. Originally, there were 4 of these pretty ornaments, but the long, thin one, met its demise in the Barton's candy tin, where many of my childhood treasures still reside.

These are the three that have survived through the years. My younger daughter selected them as my Blip today, and I had to hang them in the light, to show how amazing they still are.

One has faded to show no color, but the other two are still hanging in there.

I was always fascinated by these clever ornaments, and used to have them hanging in my room when I was a kid. How did they get the water inside of the glass? It was such a mystery to me.

Tonight, I dropped the red ornament onto the bricks in front of our fireplace, and was shocked that it survived.

My sister passed away 3 years ago, rather unexpectedly. She spent a lot of time with me and my family over the years, and I can't help but think that a little piece of her remains in these colorful droplets.

The question remains as to whether these are tears from heaven, or sweet lemon drops from the days of a young love child with no cares in her world?

I'll leave that for you decide, as it is too personal for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.