The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Super Ball

Do you remember Super Balls? They were awesome. This is the last remaining survivor of my once large collection of this bouncy wonders, made out of Zectron.

My sister Margaret and I loved these and would bounce them all over our driveway when we were kids. Wham-O made the original Super Balls, which could bounce as high as a 3 story building if bounced by an adult.

We lost our fair share of Super Balls, which invariably bounce over our garage and were never seen again. I had one that was the size of a pool ball and probably a very dangerous toy.

I've come across these in vending machines over the years, and my daughters both had them, but they were never as bouncy as the original ones.

It was music to my ears to hear the familiar accelerated staccato of the Super Ball's bounce.

Another piece of history from The Love Child Chronicles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.