The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Tiny Wonder

Every so often, I get a little surprise gift from someone that grows on me. At first, this little pasta angel seemed absurd, but over time, she became my favorite Christmas ornament.

Every year, I must place her on the tree in a special spot, where I can always see her singing her celestial Christmas songs to me. Yes, she was made from 5 shapes of pasta and a few extra pieces, but she is very special. I love her.

Most of the ornaments on our Christmas tree are inexpensive and child/cat proof, a result of babies and kittens gracing our family over the years. My younger daughter loves some simple wooden ornaments that were purchased many years ago when her older sister was in those formidable "tree destruction" years.

My older daughter was shocked that I had not hung a pink plastic heart on the tree. "This is beautiful," she told me. "See how it picks up the light like a diamond?" It is the only pastel ornament on a tree of red, green, silver, and gold, but tonight, it shines as bright as the Star of Bethlehem.

We have a kitten in our home this year, and I must admit that she has tried to chew on a few ornaments. Her older kitty brother, Oliver, has taken up under the tree, acting as the sentry. I think he has set her straight, as she now is content to rest under the boughs, whenever her big brother is away.

Christmas is a magical time of year for me. Maybe it's the pretty lights, or the mysterious miracle of the birth of the baby Jesus, but whatever the case, this season is very special to me, and holds the wonder and hope of a child's dreams, in the memories of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.