Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Valley of the rocks

The little squirrel balancing on the branch was as intrigued as I was by the cat on the weather vane. This is close to our holiday house and on the SW coastal footpath leading to the Valley of Rocks.

The Valley of Rocks is an amazing sight. Huge rock structures rise up from the valley and offer stunning views of the coastline. There is a herd of feral goats that live there.

After climbing, we continued our walk through the Lee Abbey Estate and had our picnic on their beach. It's great to have a seaside cove to ourselves .

Unfortunately I wasn't feeling too well hence my late blipping. I had a lot of abdominal pain and managed to see a local GP in Lynton immediately. (This is a first as it's practically impossible to get an appt with my GP at home). Two doctors examined me and arranged for me to go straight away to Barnstable hospital to see a surgeon. Eeeek. I'm generally very fit and healthy and I'm on holiday. We then spent three hours in a surgical ward to be told all my blood tests were fine, its wasn't appendicitis, no infection, and the surgeon couldn't find anything wrong, and had I ever heard of IBS!!

At least liver and kidney functions were good, so the red wine when we got back was very welcome.

Enough complaining, I can put up with the pain if it's all in my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.