Long Man

This morning we had a superb walk up and around Wilmington Down. I love rolling downland. In the blip the Long Man of Wilmington, a chalk figure of unknown age cut into the north facing slope of the Down. I like the S shape created by the fields in the foreground. A tractor was busy ploughing, followed by a big flock of gulls, rooks and jackdaws.

Two extras

We are staying in a great BnB. They have two Deerhounds, a breed I hadn’t come across before. Like huge hairy greyhounds, built for speed. Extreme in their physique. Incredibly long legs. And a long curved spine, which acts like a spring when they are running. But very relaxed and docile, as can be seen in the image. They love a good hand massage, as I have been finding

Second extra. Lunch in Alfriston. We called in at a bookshop in search of updated OS Maps. We came out with maps and 5 books. Possibly the best independent bookshop I have ever come across. I liked the “blind date” with a book idea. A mystery book, wrapped in plain paper, with a message giving a clue to the book, and a teabag to use whilst reading the book. The clue to the mystery package I bought was “Urban blight, or Nature’s Right - you decide”. Work that one out :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.