Philosophy

David Hume, Philosopher of this parish, rests in this mausoleum in Old Calton Burial Ground in Edinburgh. Hume could never be accused of being an underachiever and in amongst his contributions to the body of knowledge is the idea that passion rather than reason drives human behaviour. Even I have heard of, and read some of, his work.

 He also planned that his body be interred in a simple Roman tomb inscribed only with his name and the years of his birth and death and here is that tomb.

A long day. Started early, smashing second day of the conference and then travelling. I managed to catch two of the trains following a short sprint - I am not designed for sprinting and I had luggage but on both occasions I caught the train and it got me home that little bit sooner. Being home has given me my second wind so I'm going to grab a beer and chill for a while before kip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.