Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Canons Ashby

Mr K and I went to Canons Ashby today. We do like an outing!!
It was sunny and gorgeous so we got lulled in the car thinking it was a beautiful warm day. It was not. It was freezing!!
It was about 11.30 when we arrived so naturally we thought we'd head straight to the lovely cafe for lunch. They don't start serving lunch until noon so we just had tea and cappuccino and then went for a brisk walk in the garden. Despite the howling, freezing wind it was beautiful to look round. Everything's starting to look a bit Springlike!!
Once it got too cold we popped into the bookshop and bought a couple more treasures for the camper - walks in the Yorkshire Dales, and a more general British walks one.
Then it was back to the cafe for lunch. Baked potato for Mr K and the most delicious onion soup for me. It came with a cheese scone. Yummy!!!
Then we went and had a proper look around the house. As usual my favourite parts were the bedrooms and kitchens. I love thinking about all the people who must have walked on those stairs and slept in those beds and used those pots and pans and rang/responded to all those bells. It's an unimaginable world!!
Soon it was time to get back for the Little Misses. We picked them up, then I dropped Mr K and Miss L at home and then drove back to rock climbing with Miss E.
She's still sad that Mr E isn't there so isn't enjoying it at all at the moment and I miss Mrs C.  But I took my laptop and sitting there for an hour and a half gave me the chance to catch up on some Blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.