THIS WILL SOON BE.....

…..a Butternut Squash and Mushroom Risotto with crispy sage leaves on top!  Our granddaughter, Charlotte and her boyfriend, Jordan, are coming round for a meal this evening and as they are vegetarian, I thought this would fit the bill.  When my friend, Debbie, cooked this for me a few weeks ago, I really enjoyed it and have cooked it for us once since, so thought I would “get ahead” and do the preparation before I go out for coffee with a friend this afternoon.  I must say that my wonderful "Robert Welch" knives made the job so much easier - just wish I had bought decent knives 50 years ago!

I won’t say what the desserts are going to be - but let it be a surprise for Charlotte and Jordan;  one is suitable for vegetarians and the other is lovingly made by me, and also suitable for them, so hope they don’t eat too much today, otherwise we could be finishing up leftovers for a while!

Mr. HCB is presently out mowing the lawn, so it was a good job I picked the daisies yesterday - and the sun has come out after a cloudy start.  

A good time was had on “Girls About Town” this morning and I am all ready to do another morning’s training tomorrow.  I’m hoping that Jordan will be able to help me with some editing on my Macbook this evening too - which I reckon is a fair swap - (hopefully) a good meal for some advice!  Have I ever said how hard it is being retired? ;-)  

“Eating a mal together 
     can be a place of joy, 
          celebration, and friendship – 
               we can show love for each other 
                    and celebrate life.” 
Jean Vanier - founder of L’Arche

P.S.  Thank you so much for your understanding comments for yesterday’s daisy and tiny greenfly - and also all the stars and hearts - it has certainly taken the pressure off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.