All That Remains

Perhaps it was reading a page or two which resonated with me in Sue Black’s* book ‘All that Remains’ in Waterstones this morning that subconsciously propelled me into St Cuthbert’s graveyard on my way home from town, giving me this blip.

I had gone to Princes Street early to take back an online order and found myself going through the door of the bookshop knowing that any book buying would be hard to control and therefore entry was probably going to be an expensive move. And so it turned out to be.

My extra image shows three of the books that wormed themselves in to my bag, while ‘Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand’ is the one I have to finish reading before my book group meeting tonight . Of these 4 books, at least three are concerned with death and maybe why the gloom of the graveyard subconsciously appealed.

The quote at the beginning of Sue Black’s book gives rise to some thought-
‘Death is not the greatest loss in life. The greatest loss is what dies inside us while we live.’ Norman Cousins
Read and discuss!

* Sue Black was, until 2018, Professor of Anatomy and forensic Anthropology at the university of Dundee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.