Sprout lover

By robharris35

Boris

I had dinner after work with a new friend Boris, who is a Mozambican of Bulgarian descent and who also works in the environmental sector. We had a great time eating at one of his recommended places that serves delicious tapas style fare (and more importantly given the workload of late, double gins).

I didn’t mention to Boris that when I worked in a pub in my mid to late teens, when we forgot our name badges, lads would have to wear one saying ‘Boris’ and the ladies one saying ‘Enid’. When it happened to me, I think it took about five years for my parents to stop calling me Boris.

I’ve been sent the image of this track in our project site of Chimanimani, ripped apart in the cyclone. Although the road network in the Reserve was hardly smooth tarmac before, it’s hard to understand how a cyclone can cause this type of damage. The rush of water must have been intense. Over the next weeks and months, we’re going to have to do a lot of prioritising of how funds will be spent at this site, given there is now the urgent need to repair damaged infrastructure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.