Dalry Colonies

Walking from Haymarket to Bruntsfield takes you through the colonies at Dalry. I passed this way on my journey from Haymarket and noticed the red door and the blue door. I wish I'd taken the blip then as on my return the sun was much brighter and the sky is all blown out in the photograph. That'll teach me. I was through to have lunch with my friend who is recovering really well from her knee replacement surgery.

The Dalry Colonies are B listed buildings. If you're not familiar with the concept of colony houses they're double flats with an external stair to the upper flat. They were built between mid 19th and very early 20th century. The front doors are on opposite sides of the building. There are colony developments in lots of parts of Edinburgh and some just down the road from me in Stirling. They're not called colonies in Stirling though. I don't think they have a name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.