Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Diet Coke

I took Oscar to The Food Company treat him to a diet coke and ice-cream. I still love the fact that he considers these things treats. He was amazed that the bottle was in glass.

"Like in the olden days" he said. Yes, I guess.The 50's when I was a kid are like the 90's to him, which I thought was quite profound

He was really chuffed about his treat and chose to drink it without glass and straw. I debated this but then he was enjoying himself, looking confident and content. I always know this because he starts calling me mate as well as Dad.

The Food Company is like a mini Harrods Food Hall downstairs and Heals upstairs. The waiter who always comes up and tells us how he used to work on cruise liners came up and told us how he used to work on cruise liners. Both of us politely nodded.

The iconic bottle is a captivating design. It always strikes just how comfortable it is to hold.

We went the next day with Lois so now have three bottles. This is my attempt at photographing them. I had a play around with lay out and positioning and this was the best I could come up with. I normally just do faces when playing with off camera flash but thought I'd have a go at glass. That presents it's own challenges when light and glass meet.

I am on a couple of days holiday. I hope your day is good.

The Photobore Bit. All I am doing is bouncing a flash off the wall behind me, up onto the ceiling and then back down onto the bottles. The wall behind the bottles is white so to neutralise this I put one of Anjee's brown cushions behind them. You have no real idea the cushion is there because of a very short depth of field (1.8). The front label is in focus but the rear ones aren't as they are not within the aperture, depth of field setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.