Mobile

I acquired a bike today, which is harder than I would have expected in a capital, but I persevered as I miss cycling. I haven’t bought the one pictured. When I first went to the shop, on a recommendation, the quotes for bikes like this were around 70,000 meticais, which is well over 1,000 dollars. I had to ask what the owner had at the lower end of his price range, so he retrieved a used mountain bike and serviced it for me. It still cost a fair amount more than I would pay for a used bike in Cambridge, but it’s worth it for the freedom and liberation from too much time and money spent in taxis. The end of the month in Maputo sees heavier traffic as people have been paid and can afford to fuel their cars. The ride back from the shop, which timed with rush hour, will require some acclimatisation.

I could make some comments to eviscerate the state of politics in the UK, on the day the country was due to exit the EU. However I have lost the ability to track the minutiae of the latest votes, amendments, debates and incompetence. So I might rant more tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.