Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Copying

Just over a year ago I blipped an oil painting which hangs in my lounge. Blipmate, Technophobe, suggested I recreate it as a photographic still-life. Ha, ha ha! 

Mmmm! Well, doable, I thought, at the right time of year, if I can find a vase and some brown cloth and some primroses.

I missed primrose-time last year but thought I'd give it a go this year, with purchased primrose plants, not picked from the wild is the artist may have done. So - the vase: borrowed from church, one of those bottles that mixed drinks like G & T used to be sold in. It was probably me gave then to the church. The backing: a purchase this week of a dog bed sorted that. The primroses: these had to be photographed in 2 shots as I didn't have enough. The canvas effect: was some hessian I photographed, I need to shoot it from further away for a finer effect.

Result: the ingredient I had overlooked was enough time to edit, I'm already 2 days late. I should have dropped the opacity of the hessian layer and let the dog bed texture show more. I should have gone to more trouble in adding brush strokes to the flowers.

Thank-you, Technophobe, I love a challenge, will try harder next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.