Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hyacinth

Today was another bright and sunny day with temperatures of 18C which is positively balmy! Tomorrow, for Mothering Sunday,  it is all change again and the temperatures will be dropping.

It has been such a busy year for us so far with many things going on. One of those things is that when we bought our current house just over 2 years ago, we could not sell the house we were then living in. The sales agent said it was due to the uncertainty caused by Brexit and the increased stamp duty. We finally decided to rent it and we got a very good 3 year corporate rental agreement, which could be terminated early if changes in the tenant's job occurred. At the end of January I got a phone call from the agent to say that the tenant had to return to the USA due to work reasons and so the rental agreement would be terminated early. I asked the agent to put the house back on the market to sell or rent. The very next day we got an offer to buy the house, and over the course of the next few days it seemed there was a 'bidding war' between buyers and we eventually sold it for much more than the asking price! It seemed that buyers were not hanging around waiting for a Brexit outcome anymore, and the market had returned to it's usual buoyancy in our area. We were very surprised to sell it so quickly but delighted. So this morning Gavin went to the house to do the handover check with the agent after the tenants moved out, and on Monday the sale agreement is being completed, the exchange of contracts having happened earlier this week. I did not go as I felt too sad to say goodbye again to what was our family home for over 11 years. He said it was in pristine condition after the tenants had moved out.

Murdoch did go for a walk this morning and is becoming more like his usual self. He is still sticking to my side like glue and follows me from room to room. I find myself saying things like - just stay there, I am coming back, I am only going to make a cup of tea - as if he understands me!

A hyacinth from my garden - taken with a long lens to compress the background. A quiet evening at home, with our first BBQ for supper. I bought some good steaks from the butcher and they are very tasty when cooked over a naked flame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.