A day in the life

By Shelling

Troll

These two photos present two very different scenes from my childhood landscape where I lived my first eighteen years. I'm a country boy, born in a small village outside Lund in the county of Skåne. The village is in a landscape right between the flat farmland and the forest part giving me the best of the two, according to me.

The main photo shows a tree from an area called "Troll forest", now a national park to protect the trees and the type of Beech forest that once covered large parts of the county. In 1969 a storm felled most of the beech trees and this part outside the village remained and became protected. The tree showing off its growth possibilities is a "Fagus Sylvatica Tortuosa", in latin, a mutated beech tree growing in large quantities just outside my village. An inspiring playground when I grew up. 

The extra photo is taken only a couple of kilometres away, part of the same forest but here the landscape is more hilly and grassy, giving cows, horses and sheep good grazing grounds. Here you also find a lot of oak trees and Juniper. The two places are deeply planted in my brain and I can recall them wherever I am, sensing the smells, sounds and climate. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.