Gortnakilly Pier

TJ had to go into the shop in Schull today and I also had some work stuff to do, as well as a few other bits of pieces, so with the weather not greatly conducive to adventures we decided to each have our own day. The morning sharp showers merged at lunchtime into persistent rain and, a bit like yesterday, I thought that it was a going to continue to get more miserable. In the middle of the afternoon, though, the skies cleared a bit and I decided to get out on the bike. I got lucky. I did my usual circuit and avoided any heavy rain, just getting caught by a couple of sharp showers towards the end of the ride up the hill from Ahakista.

I took a short detour to visit Gortnakilly Pier. With the strong winds today it was hard to imagine any boat being able to land here at this tiny little haven. I think it is long disused. This really does capture a feel of the Sheepshead today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.