The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Distracted

I was on my way to Grange to see Wifie in the Bay Community Choir concert with the Flookburgh brass band. It had been a cloudy day all day with scarcely a peep at the sun, but as I followed a very slow moving convoy past Carr Bank the sun had appeared in a final flourish, and I could see that by the time I got to Sandside it would have gone. But the post sunset pinks and violets were probably better anyway as I stood looking across the estuary, oblivious to the march of time.

I stayed too long watching the colours fade, and I was already late when I arrived in Grange only to find that the main car park was full. The first piece was nearly finished by the time I was ushered in, and to make my arrival more conspicuous, I was taken to the only empty seat in the Hall - in the front row, next to Mr and Mrs Cedric Robinson (the Queen's Guide to the Sands).

It's a good job that Wifie is the forgiving sort. And it was good to see Flavia13 there too.

Back blipped on Sunday 31st March

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.