The Waxwings are Back!

On 22 March last year I blipped a photo of a waxwing enjoying a cotoneaster berry on a tree just round the corner from our house.

Well, this afternoon I was just returning from a bliphunt walk, photographing some possible subjects for the "Derelict Sunday" challenge, when I saw several folk pointing binoculars and long lenses up at a tree. I soon realised that the waxwings are back, about a week later than last year but in greater numbers. So of course I gave up on blipping a derelict subject and decided to blip a waxwing instead.

(I might be blipping them again soon if I can get some different shots!)

It was a good afternoon for bird photos, as just round the corner on another tree was a cute little goldcrest - it was very flighty but I managed a reasonable shot (see the extra).

It's worth looking large if you've time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.