Batman

Antonio is a friend who I met when the students from the conservation masters course were with me in the field in Chimanimani late last year. Because of the cyclone impact in central Mozambique, Antonio and his coursemates have been evacuated from Gorongosa National Park, where they live and study. They’re sitting in various corners of the country, waiting for receding waters and bridge repairs to permit their return. Antonio’s sister lives in Maputo, so he is spending some time here. We met up to look at wildlife in Jardim Tunduru, and spent a couple of hours listening for bird calls and observing the fruit bat colony. Here Antonio is looking up at the bats, jostling for position and dangling over the footpath.

Luckily the gardens are not far from my apartment as at some point yesterday I ate something that was not received well by the stomach. I had to hurry home and be stationed near the toilet for the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.