Imagine the view....

By btc

The QE2...

....gord bless'er...as they say over in the East part of town. This is the QE2 bridge or as the locals call it the Dartford Crossing (not quite the same ring to it), people going to the crossing travelling South cross this Bridge and travelling North go through the Dartford tunnel, in general though whichever direction you are heading you are likely to be doing so very slowly!

The crossing is so busy because it is the most eastern road bridge over the river Thames and one of 2 bridges East of Tower Bridge, and all the commuters want to head back into the Garden of England (although I've been to Kent a number of times and someone really needs to explain that one to me!)

The QE2 is 137m high and is the second largest cable suspension bridge in the UK behind the Severn Bridge and from personal experience a complete pain in the arse to get close to in order to photograph and when you want to, you get caked up to the knees in mud, what I do for you all to bring you a picture of a bridge.

And now I am off to have a bath to wash the banks of the Thames off me. Before I do though, another shout of to you lovely blippers for (a) getting yesterdays blip on the spotlight page and (b) sending my St Paul's blip over 1,000 views (my first ever) although Tower Bridge is now on the edge too.

I'd would also like to say that I have never done a blip where people were more interested in a background item that the main piece, so a promise to you all that as soon as I get bored with bridges I will blip Battersea Power Station for you.

Have a good evening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.