beginning and end...

...of the day.
This was the sunrise from our weekend home and the extra is the last of the sun in much the same direction.
In between was energetic. 
Everyone was up early to get to near Dunbar to register for the John Muir Way Ultra race and tehn the bus to the start - except I could go back to bed for a while as I was running the 2nd half of the relay option which began 5mins walk from our house.
By the time it was time to go a weather front was going over bringing rain and a stronger breeze in quite the wrong direction so clothing had to be re-assessed (and, although the rain stopped not too long after I'd started the temp had dropped so my jacket remained on).
My first leg runner arrived almost exactly at her predicted time so not too much waiting around, though I had seen Mr Rat and some others from our club doing the full distance just before. 
The first mile was tough, soft sand and a head wind and then a short, steepish climb but after that I was able to keep a fairly consistent pace over the next 14 to get to the finsh well within my hoped for time and more than 20 mins less in total than last year (when the weather was worse). It hard but mostly enjoyable.
Mr Rat did his 31 miles in under 5 hours and the others in the house all did very well. We celebrated back at the house with soup, roast lamb and wine but hadn't the energy for any games like last night.
P.S this was a backblip and have also posted 1/4

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.