Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cake time!

Yesterday when I was out in Cambridge Luke phoned me to say that Murdoch had vomited on the kitchen floor. When I got back last night Murdoch looked so miserable and he did not eat his supper. Then during the night he vomited quite a bit more and so when Gavin came downstairs early this morning there was quite a mess in the utility....which he thankfully cleaned up before going to work.

I was up early this morning to bake a cake as I was expecting friends for coffee later in the morning. I seldom bake these days as the boys are too health conscious to eat cake! I made a lime and polenta cake, (which was gluten free) and I can see why they don't eat cake - the amount of butter and sugar that went in the cake would definitely send the daily sugar and fat allowance way over the recommended limit.

Poor Murdoch was even more miserable this morning, he was not eating and looked very uncomfortable. I phoned the vet as soon as they opened and they said they would squeeze him in if I came right away. However, my cake was still in the oven baking so Luke kindly delayed his trip to London, (where he was going to the British Library to do some research for his dissertation), so he could take the cake out the oven and pour the lime syrup over the warm cake.

The vet took one look at Murdoch and said he had to be admitted and put on an intravenous drip as he was dehydrated. Later blood tests confirmed this. Dehydration can be very serious and can lead to organ failure and even death. So poor Murdoch spent the day in doggy hospital and I have just brought him home again. He is a tiny bit better than this morning but certainly not his usual self. He has not been his usual perky self since he had his teeth cleaned last Thursday, and at first I thought it was due to the after effects of the anaesthetic, but when he started vomiting and having diarrhoea I knew it was something else. 

Amongst all this I had a lovely coffee morning with my friends and the cake was a good one, very moist and delicious, - a Mary Berry recipe that I will make again.

When Luke got back from the British Library he did succumb to a piece of cake and coffee, as seen here....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.