shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

New money

I was working on my boss's expenses today, and counting all the various odds and ends of foreign currency that she brought back from her travels this year. I decided to share this with you as I'd never seen it before, Nigerian Naira, Bangladeshi Taka, US Dollars, Euros, who cares, boring, but this, this is fun. Money from the world's newest country, the Republic of South Sudan. I can't tell you how much it is worth today, it's not yet traded on currency markets and there's also not yet a great demand for it on the tourist market (but give them a few years). The government want it to be around 3 pounds to the US dollar, but it has been nearer 5.

The gentleman on the bank note is John Garang de Mabior (1945-2005), a hero of the new nation who died before he saw the independent nation of South Sudan. A highly educated man (he had a PhD in Agricultural Economics from Iowa State University), he was a leader initially among the rebels in South Sudan, then after the peace treaty in 1972 in the Sudanese military. Later, during the 2nd Civil War he led the rebels, after the peace was declared in July 2005, he became the Vice President of Sudan and administrative head of South Sudan in the 6 year period running up to the referendum on independence. Three weeks later he was killed when the Ugandan military helicopter he was travelling in crashed in somewhat mysterious circumstances. There are many conspiracy theorists who question the official explanation of bad weather and poor visibility, along with other details around that trip.

Ah, I'm being educational again, and actually blipping on time. I'd better go and lie down, I think it's all been a bit much for me (and the much improved cough is getting annoying). I will catch up with you all soon, honest! I have back blipped 12th-16th December, so am now entirely up to date.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.